Afterglow


There are times when you are dying to express yourself but unable to. The words are there in your mind rotating and revolving but not in a perfect orbit. And then suddenly you hear a song and Voila ! This is what you wanted to say, same words, written by someone else, in some other time, some other place. If you were talented enough to produce music, you would have done in the same way, yes! even the music was all along there in your head.

Feelings are universal. You need not have a reason to have certain kind of feeling, they can be delusional, figment of your imagination, result of a recurring dream or even a nightmare of last night.

The song I am sharing seems to have stolen my thoughts, my feelings … Something which I wanted to express through a poem, it does in a better way, giving it words and music … Enjoy !

 

Afterglow is a song by Australian Rock Band INXS (pronounced as “In Excess”) from Album Switch released on 25 April 2006. Written by Andrew Farriss and Desmond Child. Sung by J.D Fortune. (Source : Wikipedia)

 

fb_img_1450773359912.jpg

Here I am, lost in the light of the moon
That comes through my window
Bathed in blue, the walls of my memory divides
The thorns from the roses, it’s you and the roses

Touch me and I will follow in your afterglow
Heal me from all this sorrow as I let you go
I will find my way when I see your eyes
Now I’m living in your afterglow

Here I am, lost in the ashes of time
But who wants tomorrow?
In between the longing to hold you again
I’m caught in your shadow, I’m losing control
My mind drifts away, we only have today

Touch me and I will follow in your afterglow
Heal me from all this sorrow as I let you go
I will find my way, I will sacrifice ’til the blinding day when I see your eyes
Now I’m living in your afterglow
When the faith has gone as I let you go, as I let you go

Touch me and I will follow in your afterglow
Heal me from all this sorrow as I let you go
I will find my way, I will sacrifice
Now I’m living in your afterglow

Bathed in blue, the walls of my memory divides
The thorns from the roses, it’s you who is closest

Leave a Reply

